Dinner is Whatever We Find in the Pantry

24 Aug

For dinner today we all stood around the pantry, pulling boxes and cans and arguing about what would taste good.
I ended up cooking a spicy kind of Mexican rice.
I sautéed onions and jalapeños. Then added a can of diced tomatoes and peppers, some shredded carrots, and garlic powder. I cooked that mixture down some and then added some drained black beans. Once the beans were heated, I folded in cooked brown rice and added some cayenne pepper sauce.
The result was good, I’ll definitely make something similar again. I was glad I added in the extra jalapeños, it gave the rice a nice taste.
We definitely need to go grocery shopping ASAP.

20120823-200315.jpg

Leave a Reply

