Tomato Habit

19 Mar
I haven’t blogged since I came back from Florence, which has been awhile. Sorry about that.
But todays is about tomatoes :). I had the most excellent tomatoes while in Florence.  When I came back, I started craving and eating a ton of tomato products (tomato soup, mass amounts of ketchup, tomato slices on everything, etc…). It’s kind of becoming an obsession.
But heres pictures of the dishes in Italy that had some tomatoes in them:

Dinner in Rome. Bruschetta, cheese, and prosciutto.

Last meal in Firenze; lasagna and esta the (popular peach tea)

tomato basil ribollita and pasta

pasta with meat and tomato sauce

personal pizza

Yup. spaghetti with basil and tomato sauce. it was great 🙂

There was bruschetta at basically every nice dinner I had there. I bought nice olive oil in Italy and I grow basil in the summer so I’m going to try to make some. And the tomato basil ribollita, which was just excellent.
I have yet to make homemade tomato soup, so thats a goal of mine as well.
On a side note, only because it deals with food, I gave up meat (other than seafood) for lent. So far so good. I made salmon burgers yesterday for the first time, they were awesome (with a large slice of tomato on them, of course 😉 ).
2 Responses to “Tomato Habit”

  1. Recipe Chefs March 19, 2011 at 12:32 pm #

    I love food and I really enjoy reading your blog. Thanks for sharing this post. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Family Recipes –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

  2. Weekend Warrior April 15, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Ketchup… I’m trying to kick my ketchup habit. Instead of ketchup on eggs, I add chopped tomatoes or salsa. Rather than ketchup on pasta I add diced canned tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

