The Very Best Kind of Recipes

29 Jan
Have you ever tried to get a to-die-for recipe off of a family member, and they just sort of listed ingredients at you? With some recipes, the instructions and ingredients are basically, “do it until it seems right.”
These recipes are the very best kind of recipes.
My Dad’s chili (in the previous post), my meatloaf, and most of my holiday recipes are like this. These recipes tend to be the ones that were passed on from family member to family member, and altered with each person.
These guess-and-check recipes are ones that stick with us, and that we can alter to our own tastes. BUT they can be quite frustrating for a new cook.
As I am attempting to write my cookbook, I am finding that I have to measure out exactly how much of what I put into my meals. Which is a pain. But eventually, hopefully, someone will be able to use that and make it their own. I am searching for this kind of recipe to experiment on, and hopefully fill my cookbook with. Thanks to technology, there are videos of people making food like this all over the internet. And you can kind of judge how much of what to put in by watching.
Do you have any of these kinds of recipes? Please do share.

2 Responses to “The Very Best Kind of Recipes”

  1. Alexis February 8, 2011 at 9:57 am #

    this is pretty much how my mom cooks! my favorite of her recipes like this are her stuffed peppers. she stuffs them with grated cheese and egg. but how much cheese and how many eggs she uses just depends. she whips it until it’s thick but still able to be poured into the peppers. so it depends on how many peppers and how big they are. i have yet to attempt them myself, but i guess one afternoon i should give them a try.

  2. play pacman February 10, 2011 at 9:14 am #

    An interesting dialogue is price comment. I feel that it’s best to write extra on this topic, it may not be a taboo subject however generally people are not enough to talk on such topics. To the next. Cheers

Leave a comment